top of page
  • Writer's pictureCharles Trujillo

Moving to the New Age With Bite

Updated: Jan 17, 2021



Confession, I've never written a blog. Barely know what a blog is if I can be honest. For someone who loves technology, I tend to be resistant to technology that is not curated to me. Unless, it is my Jabra Elite 75T (my Non-Sponsor of the Year) or my fancy new HP Pavilion x360, I tend to put my hand out like a vegan refusing steak to the new fads or social media waves. Yes, I am aware that blogs are not really new age, but think of me of Carl from Up. I don't want the new houses that the property manager wants to put on my streets. Let me just listen to "Trappin in Japan" while I whoop my friends in our Madden franchise. Yet, I look at the hard work that the Wonder Twins, Francisco and Andrew, put into our development and after 88 Shows of Sports Goofs( and more to come), it is time for Carl to go on an adventure and to the New Age. Unfortunately for those who come to the website, I chose to write blogs. Will they be consistent? Probably not. Will they be good? Doubtful.


I often write how I speak, with confidence and no idea the words that are coming out of my mouth. Out of place syntax and analogies that make no sense may litter these blogs in the near future. But, I am truly excited to contribute to the Goof World Order (GWO for the insiders). For almost eight years, any form of writing was constrained to what the blue book and legal documents dictate. Now I break free from that cycle to only make random readers eyes bleed. With that being said, lets talk briefly about some sports.


So Arthur Smith is now the head coach of the Atlanta Falcons. For the new blood, I am a Tennessee Titans fan. Some people might say, "Charles, please don't tell me that you are going to moan and weep over him getting hired." Well, I kind of am. Is it a good hire for the Falcons? I'm not sure. Smith has been our OC for two years. In those two years, the game elevated greatly for the cast of characters in that offense. A.J. Brown had back to back 1,000 yard seasons and Derrick Henry just broke 2,000 yards and repeated as the NFL's Rushing Leader. While, the King stays the King, it leaves some concerns of how our offense will function next season. Under Smith, The Titans' offense was able to be one of the top scoring offenses in the NFL. Side note, if you want fully detailed statistics, you will not get that here; I am too lazy for that.


With the departure of Smith, I am left wondering what is the vision that Vrabel and Robinson want in the next offensive coordinator. Do you want someone who can maximize the potential of our receivers and Ryan Tannehill? Or do you prefer someone to continue the rebirth of old smash mouth football and feed the King his feast. My logic is this, the King is going to conquer regardless who is calling the plays. Therefore, it is important to keep the consistency between Tannehill, Brown, and possibly a returning Corey Davis. I do not know if our successful offensive scoring was a product of bad defenses being played either. Blowing up the Jaguars, Lions, Houston, and the Vikings is not necessarily as hand clapping. However, we were able to clear 30 points and higher on teams such as the Colts, the Bills, and Baltimore.


So, if the brain trust (Titan Trust?) believe everything is a product of the cast they have, then they need to add someone who can continue to call the smart plays, instead of putting in the predictable half back dive with play action calls. I've suffered the Jeff Fisher era once. Please, for the love of all that is holy, do not bring that pain again. Find in the draft new receivers and a tight end. Further, bring on board someone who did what Smith did, which was calling the right plays, instead of the plays that stubborn coordinators do because of loyalty to schemes and systems. No loss is justified because you like west coast vs. spread.


My reflections on Smith make me realize that I'll probably regret not having him as our coordinator next season. Yet, no coach should ever say no to a head coaching opportunity because the NFL is always quick to find another. He inherits a similar team with potential on offense and great flaws on defense. there is also the dilemma of those high salaries and what to do with Matt Ryan and Julio Jones. Plus, Smith does not have Derrick Henry to beat up linebackers. Thankfully he has a patient owner in Arthur Blank. Whether the fanbase likes the hire is a completely different story. So good luck to Arthur Smith. I am still shocked as of this writing that Eric Bieniemy is not hired as a head coach yet, but unfortunately that is the nature of the beast. I would call you a liar If there was a more deserving offensive coordinator out there than Bieniemy.


So that's all folks for this entry. Thanks for attempting to read a very fractured but coherent (oxymoronic much) blog from one of the Goofs. Thanks Francisco and Andrew for being so good for the GWO that I had to actually do something outside of appearing on the show and retweeting the show. Maybe this is my Thanos getting the Gauntlet at the end of Age of Ultron to deal with Earth's Mightiest Heroes moment? I think it's more like Up with Carl deciding to live in the elderly home and move forward with the new age.



bottom of page